NRL News · Team file

Perth Bears

News, contracts and player movement. A clear view of the squad taking shape for 2027.

Checked 29 October 20262027 squad2027 competition entry

Latest verified updates

News review: 2 November 2026. Announcement dates shown below. Earlier roster and salary observations retain their original dates unless a change is explicitly identified.

Contract values & cap context

Annual rates and deal averages for the 2027 squad, with dated historical or future figures where the current price is unavailable. All figures are AUD; click each amount for its source.

A$12.10m2027 maximum Top 30 cap benchmark
A$1.20mReported annualised subtotal
9.9%Subtotal as a share of the cap
2 / 27Listed players included in subtotal

A$10.90m (90.1%) is not accounted for by these figures. This includes undisclosed contracts and is not available cap space.

3 players have a sourced price indication; 24 listed players have no verified amount. 1 historical, future, imprecise or non-comparable figures are displayed but excluded from the subtotal.

This subtotal is an indicative sum of public reports, not the full squad wage bill or an audited cap charge. The percentage compares this partial subtotal with the cap benchmark; it does not measure actual cap usage. Unpriced players remain unknown.

Maximum benchmark: A$11.70m base plus up to A$0.30m veteran/developed-player and A$0.10m vehicle allowances. Allowance eligibility and cap adjustments can vary.

Perth also has a reported sponsor concession of up to A$500k, subject to conditions. It is shown separately and not added to the Top 30 cap denominator.

The marquee sponsor concession is not treated as a blanket increase in the club’s cap.

Cap benchmark, calculation method & limitations · Checked 30 October 2026.

2027 Top 30 tracker

27 names identified · Inaugural squad in progress

This list is not a final registered Top 30. Unconfirmed places are left open; a missing name does not establish a vacant contract slot. Development and train-and-trial players are not counted as senior places.

  • Blake WilsonAmount not verified
  • Apa TwidleAmount not verified
  • Chris Vea'ilaAmount not verified
  • Corey Horsburgh~A$700k/yrReported season salary · moderate confidence
  • Gehamat Shibasaki~A$500k/yr average · A$1m / 2 yearsReported deal average, 2027–28 · moderate confidence
  • Harry NewmanAmount not verified
  • Iszac Fa'asuamaleauiAmount not verified
  • Jack ColeAmount not verified
  • James McDonnellAmount not verified
  • Jonathan SuaAmount not verified
  • Josh CurranAmount not verified
  • Kit LauliliiAmount not verified
  • Liam HenryAmount not verified
  • Luke LauliliiAmount not verified
  • Luke SmithAmount not verified
  • Mason BarberAmount not verified
  • Mavrik GeyerAmount not verified
  • Mikolaj OledzkiAmount not verified
  • Morgan SmithiesAmount not verified
  • Nick MeaneyAmount not verified
  • Niwhai PuruAmount not verified
  • Scott SorensenAmount not verified
  • Sean RussellAmount not verified
  • Siosifa TalakaiAmount not verified
  • Toby SextonAmount not verified
  • Tyran Wishart~A$350k · 2026 estimateHistorical context · Storm contract; 2027 rate unverified · moderate confidence · excluded from subtotal
  • Tyson SmoothyAmount not verified

Published contract source · Roster confidence: high.

Roster notes and source limitations

The club's directory lists these 26 players. Its 10 September announcement reported 27 Top 30 contracts and five development places filled. Directory coverage is not proof of available roster spots.

Club update on Top 30 and development places

Signings & movement

Selected changes for 2027. Club announcements are confirmed; independent tracker entries are labelled as published movements.

Arrivals

  • Jonathan Sua — Bulldogs; three-year deal
  • Gehamat Shibasaki — Broncos
  • Jope Rauqe — Bulldogs; contract tier not specified

Departures

No additional independently verified changes listed in this snapshot. This does not mean there have been no changes.

Signing announcement 1 · Signing announcement 2

Selected confirmed arrivals. The full official roster directory is above.

Development & other contracts

  • Zac Herdegen
  • Zac Lipowicz
  • Cooper Watters

Verified development signings; incomplete list. Asher Chapman is 2027 train-and-trial, 2028 development, 2029 Top 30. Zane Murray is academy only.

Source 1 · Source 2 · Source 3

Jope Rauqe — Signed; Top 30 versus development tier not stated in retrieved announcement.